March 15, 2010

Hobson Named As A Wooden Award Finalist

New Mexico junior Darington Hobson has been named as one of the 26 finalists for 2010 John R. Wooden award.

The award, created in 1976, is given out to annually to the nation's best player.

Hobson led the Lobos in scoring (16.2), rebounding (9.2) and assists (4.6), becoming the first player in school history to lead his team in all three categories for an entire season.

Hobson, along with BYU's Jimmer Fredette, are the only players from the Mountain West Conference to be on the award ballot.

Notre Dame's Luke Harangody won the award last year.

The announcement will take place on April 9th at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the All-Amercican recipients.

Here is a list of the candidates for the 2010 Wooden Award:

Cole Aldrich, Kansas
Al-Farouq Aminu, Wake Forest
James Anderson, Oklahoma State
Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga
Da'Sean Butler, West Virginia
Sherron Collins, Kansas
DeMarcus Cousins, Kentucky
Jimmer Fredette, BYU
Luke Harangody, Notre Dame
Gordon Hayward, Butler
Lazar Hayward, Marquette
Darington Hobson, New Mexico
Robbie Hummel, Purdue
Damion James, Texas
Wesley Johnson, Syracuse
Dominique Jones, South Florida
Kalin Lucas, Michigan State
Greg Monroe, Georgetown
Jerome Randle, California
Scottie Reynolds, Villanova
Jon Scheyer, Duke
Kyle Singler, Duke
Evan Turner, Ohio State
Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State
Greivis Vasquez, Maryland
John Wall, Kentucky

...More... To continue reading this article you must be a member. Sign Up Now!